Harry Potter 7 premieres

Click for the video of Emma Watson and Rupert Grint at the Premiere.

Daniel Radcliff, Rupert Grint, Emma Watson, Tom Felton and the rest of the Hogwarts gang, made their way to the premiere of Deathly Hallows, right under my eyes!

Harry Potter and all its associated paraphrenalia have been an important part of my childhood. So you can imagine the sheer excitement with which I went for the highly anticipated premiere.

For days my friends and I held long drawn conversations about it, what to wear, when to go, how to get one of the hot guys in the gang ( read Tom Felton) to marry us and so on.

And so we were there!

From 11AM on a cold, rainy London morning, my friends and I trooped in front of the Odeon to catch a glimpse of the Boy Who Lived and his cronies.

For six hours, we braved the stormy weather, made friends with a bunch of fellow fans and assumed we would comfortably see our childhood obsessions up close.

Then by mid afternoon, the deceptively small numbers, began a mad scurry to get right in front of the barricades. We all wanted to see them, and none of us wanted anything other than the front row.

With several rounds of frenzied rushing to the barricades, the three of us found ourselves right up front. If one of them wanted to fall in love with us, they had a full view!

After nearly four hours of standing, being pushed and shoved, we resembled corpses. People were becoming so enthusiastic, that all that remained up front from the three of us, was my measly hand hanging helpless over the baricade.

And then they came!

Emma Watson and Rupert Grint arrived first, turning the fans into a madhouse of energy. Cameras were flashing all over the place. Arms flying to get autrographs…

I forget the order of arrivals then on. But I distinctly remember not seeing Harry Potter! A little bird told me he hopped out of the car and hopped into the VIP circle. Wierd!

Then Tom Felton came. and because the video camera I was using, refused to accept my minstrations, I couldn’t get to drool all over him!

But after almost seven hours of standing and shoving, I finally gave up. I retreated from the vultures that were surrounding me and moved into a surprisngly quiet street.

Every muscle in my body screamed. I was in so much pain I could barely walk. My whole body was frozen and it was like climbing the mount everest with every step I took.

I had imagined that despite all that, I would have the contended feeling that all fans talk of having after a completely harrowing experience.

All I wanted to do then was crawl into my bed and sleep. Don’t get me wrong… everytime iI saw one of the characters, my heart literally jumped up… But all the same I was pooped!

I  am not going to say that I’ll never do this again, I might just. But only as a professionally appointed journalist. I wanted to kill one of those smug buggers with their huge cameras, and overtly self ingratiating annoncements.

But all in all an experience I will never forget!

Image courtesy:Stefanie Soehnchen, Chandni Sehgal

Check out their blogs too for some additional information!

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter 7 premieres

Leave a Reply

