Lured by Luru

I was actually super surprised that there was no post on Bangalore on my blog.

I mean , I’m telling even the most uninterested people I meet that I love the place. So here goes. This ones for you Bangalore, love of my life. home, heart and happiness.

Image Courtesy: http://www.maa.co.in/

Image Courtesy: http://www.maa.co.in/

If you ask me to point out the one thing I love about Bangalore, I simply wouldn’t be able to.

But I can assure you it has nothing to do with the gardens, or IT or any of the other mundane things that people keep insisting Bangalore is about..

Bangalore is so much more than that.

Its about discovering quaint books in the run down Mecca Stores. Its about haggling shamelessly with shady auto walas. Its about speaking broken Kannada with panache. Its about being a part of one of the most culturally diverse cities in India. Its about so many little things that make Bangalore, the babe of all cities, if such a thing were possible.

The city ingratiates itself into your life in so many little ways, holding a vice like grip on your heartstrings, making other cities look surprisingly insufficient. Don’t get me wrong. I am aware that most people feel this way about the cities they consider home. But there’s something unmistakably special about Luru.

Through my years in London, Manchester and Delhi, whenever someone asked me, “Are you going home?”, the only place that I could think of as home was Bangalore. Never, did I think of Kochi or Kerala, which, is my ‘hometown’ ; because Bangalore was always mine, and I belonged to Luru.

To the evergreen Brigade Road, the sudden showers, the hot cups of coffee and the wonderful people of this city, my humble thank you. For welcoming me back with open arms.

Its part 2 of our love affair, Bangalore. And I can’t wait!

 

Leave a Reply

